A Green Spin

‘Isn’t it boring to do nothing constructive with your day?’

with 2 comments

I just read The 112 Hour Week (And I’m writing an eBook) [here], a criticism on the latest trends of ‘minimalism, lifestyle design, mini-retirements and 4-hour work weeks’ (interestingly, he’s a minimalist himself):

And what’s this obsession with not working anyway? Isn’t it boring to do nothing constructive with your day? I think humans have an innate need to create something, or else they get fat and die.

From what I’ve learnt so far from the people who want to follow a minimalist lifestyle or work for 4 hours a week, it’s not about doing ‘nothing constructive’ with your day, and has everything to do with the fact that ‘humans have an innate need to create something’. The reason why people want to leave their 9-5 jobs is to pursue their real dreams and passions, particularly those of a creative nature. People in dead-end jobs are particularly interested in minimalism, and being free of the drudgery of today’s working society is to let go of what has stifled their creative passions before, and to allow them to grow.

Which leads me to my next point, these 4-hour work weeks or better 2-hour work weeks or EVEN better 0-hour work week. I think I finally got what they meant. These bloggers seem to define “work” as any chore that you do for money.

[…]

But me. I like working. And I like to use this definition of work:
work |wərk| noun

activity involving mental or physical effort done in order to achieve a purpose or result

So using this definition, walking to the beach is work. Updating my Facebook status is work. Sex is work (or if you’re doing it wrong it can be a chore). You see I think these 2/4 hour work week people have it all wrong. Work is awesome. It’s all about having a purpose and knowing your outcome. I don’t want to read a book on how to work 4 hours a day and then fuck around for the rest of the day. And I don’t want to “outsource” my life. It’s my life and I want to experience the most of every waking moment.

I’m not so sure it’s as utopian as all that. I don’t believe that people come to the ‘4-hour week’ books thinking, ‘great, I can quit all the chores and boring things in my life and be lazy! I don’t have to work ever again! I hate work!’. The vast majority of people I know don’t want to quit work just so they can lie around watching daylight TV for the rest of their life. They want to quit work because it is suppressing their real dreams and passions which they have no time for. They want to work towards these dreams, right? And ‘having a purpose and knowing your outcome’ is often unreachable when a person is stuck in a job that hate. The minimalist movement is popular because people want to ‘experience the most of every waking moment’.

 

That’s what I got out of ‘The 4 Hour work week’ anyway. Just putting my six pence out there.

Am I wrong? Are people who follow the ‘4 hour work a week’ ideal, just pursueing laziness instead?

 

I quite like this ‘no bullshit’ blogger, other than disagreeing with this post. Especially his comments on the 100-things challenge – “Personally, I think it’s a cop-out to have exceptions but then to really have only 100 things would be way too difficult”.

Written by Peppidee

March 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good points. I was poking a bit of fun at Tim Ferriss because I’m sure he’s one of the hardest working people out there. And he was smart enough to know “4 Hour Work Week” would get attention. (http://www.boingboing.net/2010/10/25/howto-use-google-adw.html)

    I agree with you that the idea behind all these books/movements is life strategies, living with intention and pursuing your passions. We don’t have to accept the status quo!

    Roy

    March 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    • ah thanks for the link! that was an interesting read. I’ve spent weeks reading the blogs of minimalist-living people who work 4 hours or less a week because they’re doing work they love, being busy following passions and living frugally etc.etc., so I forgot Tim Ferriss’ book isn’t quite the same.:)

      Peppidee

      March 29, 2011 at 1:10 am


Leave a Reply

