A Green Spin

All these number challenges…

with 2 comments

The 100 Items Challenge is great, but don’t compare the amount of items you own to someone else. ‘They have 65 items, I need to have less than that!’ – It’s not a competition on how many emotional attachments you can vanquish. Half these people aren’t including toiletries and disposables, food, and things that aren’t ‘personal’ (e.g. household objects, furniture…)

Project 333 is fab, but don’t get rid of everything you own and love to satisfy some mystical number 33 which someone came up with. I NEED my six pairs of shoes, for all different things. I love all of my dresses, and appear at quite a few social events, so I can’t just wear the same 5 dresses on rotation for the rest of my life. I have six different hoodies, depending on whether it’s hot, I’m cycling, it might rain… (And again, look at the exceptions – lounge wear, work out gear, and underwear!) – That doesn’t mean I have a huge attachment invested in them. I travelled to South America with five t-shirts and two trousers last year; only you know your own limits., and whether you need all the clothes you own, or you’re just reluctant to throw them for good.

Don’t get obsessed with the numbers if you can’t get rid of the 34th or 101st item, that’s all I’m saying. Your life; your rules.

Written by Peppidee

March 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent point. I could own 100 forklifts and nothing else but that’d be pretty useless 🙂

    Sometimes people get hung up on the process and forget the purpose!

    Roy

    March 28, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    • exactly! I liked how you were honest about how many comic books, socks etc. you owned, making your number way over the mystical 100 but still an awesome and ‘do-able’ list for continuous traveling. 🙂

      Peppidee

      March 29, 2011 at 12:58 am


Leave a Reply

